The crusaders of epic heathen metal, Moonsorrow was founded in 1995 with the goal of creating metal art with a good touch of national romanticism and a distinctively pagan approach.

Between 1996 and 2001 Moonsorrow released 4 demos and an album before signing with Spinefarm. The 2nd album, Voimasta ja kunniasta was released in 2001 and its follow-up Kivenkantaja (2003) already hit the Finnish album charts at #16. It also took the band to their first shows abroad in 2004. Verisäkeet (2005) reached the charts as well, and saw Moonsorrow play their 1st show on the other side of the Atlantic and join Primordial for the band’s 1st full European tour, both in 2006.

Their 5th album, Viides luku – Hävitetty included just two songs, both of them checking in at around the 30 minute mark, paving way to new heights of epic pagan art, continued on the 68-minute long “EP” Tulimyrsky with another 30-minute song.

2011 sees the release of the most majestic album of the year, Varjoina kuljemme kuolleiden maassa (As Shadows We Walk In The Land Of The Dead). Varjoina kuljemme kuolleiden maassa is a full-fledged concept album about a world after annihilation.

An all-immersing cinematic experience, which with liner lyrics and photographer Juha Arvid Helminen’s illustration complete a story about a world where stars no more shine. A world where the end is same with the beginning. A world where there is nothing but devastation, despair and death.


Ville Sorvali – Vocals / Bass

Mitja Harvilahti – Guitars

Henri Sorvali – Guitars / Keyboards

Markus Eurén – Keyboards

Marko Tarvonen – Drums

Janne Perttilä – guitars


2011 – Varjoina Kuljemme Kuolleiden Maassa

2008 – Tulimyrsky (EP)

2007 – Viides Luku – Hävitetty

2005 – Verisäkeet

2003 – Kivenkantaja

2001 – Voimasta Ja Kunniasta

2001 / 2003 – Suden Uni


Jörg Düsedau





feed icon   icalendar icon   nach oben icon

07.07.2021 - 10.07.2021 DE Ballenstedt Rockharz BUY TICKETS
28.08.2021 SE Norrtälje Månegarm Open Air